Welcome to the Indian Newslink Indian Business Awards 2016

Indian Newslink, The English Language fortnightly, known as the ‘Voice of the Indian Community’ in New Zealand, launched the Indian Newslink Indian Business Awards in 2008 to recognise and reward business successes in New Zealand. The categories have steadily expanded based on the feedback received from participants and readers of the newspaper.

Awards Ceremony

Our Annual Awards Presentation Ceremony, held in November, has been hailed as ‘bigger and better,’ year after year. The Awards Night Presentation Dinner held at the Sky City Convention Centre in Auckland on November 23, 2015 has been described as “the best and biggest ever, bringing together a cross-section of New Zealand’s business community.”

Among the Guests of Honour were Economic Development Minister Steven Joyce, Associate Trade Minister Todd McClay, Minister of Small Business Craig Floss, Ethnic Communities Minister Peseta Sam Lotu-liga, Opposition Leader Andrew Little, Former UNIDO Advisor Jebamalai Vinanchiarachi, Indian High Commissioner Charge d’ Affaires Sandeep Sood, Auckland Mayor Len Brown, BNZ Managing Director & Chief Executive Anthony Healy, BNZ Director Mai Chen and KPMG Executive Chairman Ross Buckley.

Mr Joyce said, “The Indian business community in New Zealand are effective partners in building our relationship. I am pleased to note that the Indian Newslink Indian Business Awards are getting bigger and better every year,” he said.

Guests of Honour

Since it began in 2008, the Awards Presentation Ceremony has had the honour of presence of several leaders and internationally recognised dignitaries including Prime Minister John Key, Sir Anand Satyanand (while in office as Governor General), Indian High Commissioners Kadakath Pathrose Ernest, Retired Admiral Sureesh Mehta, Avanindra Kumar Pandey, Ravi Thapar and Charge de Affaires (2015) Sandeep Sood, AUT University Vice-Chancellor Derek McCormack, Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Bill English, Economic Development Minister Steven Joyce, then Opposition Leaders Phil Goff, David Shearer and David Cunliffe, then Small Business Minister John Banks, then BNZ Chairman Waller and Mr Healy.

Our special guests from India included former West Bengal Governor Gopal Krishna Gandhi (2012), the Prince of Arcot Nawab Mohammed Abdul Ali and Former UNIDO Advisor Jebamalai Vinanchiarachi.

This Year’s Awards

Nominations and Entries to the Indian Newslink Indian Business Awards 2016 opened on March 1, 2016 and will close at 6 pm on August 31, 2016.

There are 14 categories in IBA 2016

The finalists and winners will be announced at a gala black tie dinner to be held on November 28, 2016 at the Skycity Convention Centre, details of which will be announced in due course.

Award Categories

  1. Business Excellence in Retail Trade
  2. Business Excellence in Innovation
  3. Business Excellence in Marketing
  4. Business Excellence in Customer Service
  5. Best Employer of Choice New
  6. Best Small Business
  7. Best Medium Sized Business
  8. Best Large Business
  9. Business Excellence in International Business with India (For Importers and Exporters)
  10. Best Accountant of the Year
  11. Best Young Entrepreneur of the Year
  12. Best Businesswoman of the Year
  13. Best Financial Adviser (Mortgage) of the Year New
  14. Best Financial Adviser (Insurance) of the Year New

Supreme Business of the Year Award (All entries will be entered for this category)

Free Workshops

Free workshops on ‘How to file a winning entry,’ and other details including how the judging process works will be held as follows:

  1. Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at 4 pm: BNZ Partners, Level 1, 86 Highbrook Drive, East Tamaki
  2. Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at 4 pm: BNZ Partners, Level 1, 86 Highbrook Drive, East Tamaki
  3. Thursday, July 7, 2016 at 4 pm: Level 8, Deloitte Centre, Level 8, 80 Queen Street, Auckland City (Workshop in The Board Room, Level 7; please report at Reception at Level 8)

To Register please email 

Other Centres

We hope to conduct free Workshops in Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch this year.  We will publish details on this website, on our Indian Newslink

( website and in Indian Newslink. 

Download Entry Forms here

Please download the entry form, rules and regulations, choose up to three categories, complete the entry requirements on your computer, save a copy, and email your entries to on or before August 31, 2016. Please do not fax, mail or courier the form.

All companies nominating or entering must complete a single Entry Form Part One, plus a Part Two form for each category entered.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominations and Entries for all categories are open to businesses owned, managed, operated or franchised by people of Indian origin in New Zealand except the ‘Business Excellence in International Business with India’ category, which is open to all New Zealand businesses importing or exporting goods or services from and to India.

The Best Accountant of the Year, the Best Young Entrepreneur of the Year, the Best Businesswoman of the Year, Best Financial Adviser (Mortgage) and Best Financial Adviser (Insurance) Categories are open to people of Indian origin, who are either citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand. They could be independent entrepreneurs or businesses or employed in any New Zealand registered company, regardless of its origin or ethnicity. Those employed in national and multinational companies with registered offices in New Zealand can either be nominated or apply directly.

Please see the Forms for details.

Queries & Updates

Should you have any queries, please contact the Editor, Indian Newslink on (09) 5336377 or (09) 3910203 or email

Please visit regularly this website and for updates.